Days in the life

Some parenting vignettes:

(Wailing from upstairs)

PARENT: What happened?

CHILD 1: (Wails) He hit me!

PARENT, to CHILD 2: Did you hit him?

CHILD 2: (In a scandalized voice) I did not hit him! (In normal tones) I sat on him.

PARENT, to CHILD 3: Where are your pants?

CHILD 3: In the kitchen.

PARENT: Why are they in the kitchen?

CHILD 3: Ummmm.  I don’t know.

On a different day,

PARENT, to CHILD 3: Where are your pants??

CHILD 3: Ummmm. Over dere.

PARENT: Why are they not on?

CHILD 3: Ummmm. (Picks up pants.) Can you help me?

On a recent birthday

PARENT: Well, how does it feel to be another year older?

CHILD: (Considers) Some of my fingers are hot. These four, on my left hand.

Oh my, if only I could remember the many similar vignettes. They say that parenting keeps you young – maybe it’s because it keeps you laughing.

3 thoughts on “Days in the life

Leave a Reply

