Teenager

scan10302016015654_001

Mom serving pizza for dinner, drawn by Little Man, age 4

“Mom,” said my 4-year-old son, “You look like a teenager.”

“Why thank you!” I said, tickled, but surprised. ” Why do you say I look like a teenager?”

“Well, you are small. And teenagers are small, too. But not small like me.”

Some days ago he said suddenly, “Mom, I like you. But,” he added, “I don’t like it when you are grumpy.” (I don’t like it, either. I try to remember that, as I heard it said once, “The mother is the emotional and spiritual center of the family.” Or, “If mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy.”)

Little Man is a funny, happy, very imaginative kid; I love to hear all the things he says.

Leave a Reply

