Windy night

Last night the winds chased each other round and round the house throughout the night. I was up long past midnight, listening. I felt like a little creature hidden in a fastness, listening to the winds playing.

I wasn’t afraid  – I had been earlier, as darkness fell and the winds rose, connecting the outer conditions to a state of darkness my mind had fallen into in the evening. But I prayed. And I jumped out of bed and went downstairs and had two digestive biscuits, then went back to bed and read a bit from a novel.  And I then I felt better. I couldn’t sleep but I was glad because I got to hear the winds.

Leave a Reply

