A little Wordsworth

My heart leaps up when I behold
   A rainbow in the sky:
So was it when my life began;
So is it now I am a man;
So be it when I shall grow old,
   Or let me die!
The Child is father of the man:
And I could wish my days to be
Bound each to each by natural piety.

The final two lines of Wordsworth’s poem kept echoing in my mind during the last few weeks, but I couldn’t remember where they came from. I looked them up, and found this little poem. Wordsworth wrote it, it seems, the day before he began to compose Ode: Intimations of Immortality, a poem which I (and many others) love; and several lines of  My Heart Leaps Up  were at one point printed as an epigraph before it.

One thought on “A little Wordsworth

  1. ashokbhatia

    One of the several poems we became familiar with while in school. The more we age, the more we appreciate the wisdom contained in the line ‘The Child is the father of the man…’!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

