More Robinson Crusoe

N. C. Wyeth illustration for Robinson Crusoe (Image source)

N. C. Wyeth illustration for Robinson Crusoe (Image source)

One isn’t supposed to judge a book by its cover; evidently one oughtn’t judge a book by its first four chapters, either. Now I’m on chapter eight – Robinson Crusoe has had an awakening of conscience and changed his outlook on life. How did I not see that coming? The book has gotten much more interesting altogether.

I wondered whether the American illustrator Howard Pyle had done any illustrations for Robinson Crusoe, as that would seem right up his alley. I can’t find evidence online that he had, but one of his students, N. C. Wyeth, made beautiful ones, above and below.

N. C. Wyeth illustration (Image source)

N. C. Wyeth illustration (Image source)

N. C. Wyeth illustration (Image source)

N. C. Wyeth illustration (Image source)

2 thoughts on “More Robinson Crusoe

  1. Julie

    I loved Robinson Crusoe when I read it I think in 10th grade; tried reading it recently and was really put off by the first chapter!! I didn’t remember all that. SO, I’m glad to be reminded of the change in this castaway. The illustrations here are exquisite. Thanks for a Time of Beauty this morning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

