O tempora! O mores! O fashionable spiritual books

A generous friend recently gave me the book To Bless the Space Between Us by John O’Donahue.

I was grateful for her thoughtfulness, and started reading it right away.  I was taken aback, and wrote a critique, intending to post it here.  I decided instead that a two-line summary would be sufficient, so here it is:  John O’Donahue, I earnestly pray that God rests your soul and that we merrily meet in heaven. Your book though, is largely rubbish.

Here is a picture inspired by the designs of George Bain.  Incidentally, drawing + Celtic design + chickens = happiness for Maria.

Here is a picture inspired by the designs of George Bain. Incidentally, drawing + Celtic design + chickens = happiness.

3 thoughts on “O tempora! O mores! O fashionable spiritual books

  1. Julie

    Pithy comments, please, on the nature of the rubbish in the book! Just how New-Age-y IS it???? What falsehoods should we recognize, what sillinesses should we abhor, what truths should we be prepared to defend? Quotes from this book, to illustrate the points, and you’re done, and I have something to tell my friend who is touting this person.

    Reply
    1. mollyblueeyes Post author

      The book is not grounded in Christ – that is the trouble. Humanism and a kind of neo-paganism abound in the poems and essays, but not Christianity, I don’t think. I will send you my original critique, Julie, which does adduce quotes from the book. If the woman whose account you read touts the author as a spiritualist, well, all right, if that is the kind of spirituality you want. But as my little sister put it, in her characteristically blunt way, “I’m a book burner, and I don’t care. That kind of thing is [bleep] and leads people away from the good stuff.”

      Reply
      1. Julie

        Love the Blunt! I did read from one Christian, however, that this Stuff was a part of her road from total unbelief to at least considering the supernatural. So I guess God can use anything.

Leave a Reply

