Ninja Mom does battle

Lightendtunneloriginal

There are some times that I wish I did have tunnel vision – so I could concentrate on the light ahead and not on the darkness around me.

On the other hand, I know how my mind works, and generally I find myself assuming, as the humor-minded say, that the light at the end of the tunnel is an oncoming freight train.

Baby has a high fever?  Meningitis!  3-year-old talks less than his peers?  Cognitive impairment! 6-year-old has a mysterious illness?  It must be something terrible.

We have been battling sickness of one kind or another in our little family for three and half weeks.  While it is fatiguing and sometimes difficult, in a way I embrace it as just another part of the adventure of having a family.  But some hard battling goes on in my mind.  I have to take captive every thought.  I have to be alert, too, or I will not catch these thoughts, and they will do damage while I am unaware. Little fears and big ones, hopelessness, resentment, impatience – I have consciously to capture each one and turn it over to God.

Please keep us in your prayers!  And now I’ll hie me to bed so I can get properly healthy again.

Leave a Reply

