Be not afraid

On Friday we left Los Angeles, driving east for our summer family vacation.  We left California, crossed Nevada, and stopped for the night in Utah.  The boys got so much delight from spending the night at a real, live, hotel, that we were delighted, watching their enjoyment.

One of the great pleasures of a road trip is getting to talk in the car.  As we drove through high red rock formations in Utah on Saturday morning, Michael and I talked about politics and culture, wars and persecution, the virtue of courage, and how we might go about instilling this virtue into our children.

      “Remember the words of Our Lady of Guadalupe,” said Michael.  “‘Do not be worried or anxious about anything.'”

Am I not here who am your Mother? Are you not under my shadow and protection? Am I not your fountain of life? Are you not in the folds of my mantle? In the crossing of my arms? Is there anything else you need?”

Take those words, then think of these from the Song of Solomon:  Who is she that comes forth as the morning rising, fair as the moon, bright as the sun, terrible as an army set in battle array?

It seems like a picture of the perfect mother: warm, loving, reassuring – and just a little bit terrifying.

Queen of Victories, Star of the Sea, Mother of the Church and our mother.  Painting the Mother of God is a bit of a tall order.  I asked the Lord when I was painting to help me to convey some of the sweetness of his mother.

Queen of Victories, Star of the Sea, Mother of the Church and our mother. Painting the Mother of God is a bit of a tall order. I asked Jesus when I was painting to help me to convey some of the sweetness of his mother.

We are now in Colorado.  We’ll be on vacation all through June, so posting will be sporadic, but I’ll do my best.

Leave a Reply

